Charlene Diehl Does It Again!!

Charlene Diehl, Director of THIN AIR, has once again chosen some stellar writers. On Monday, September 15 the long-list for the ScotiaBank Giller Prize was announced. Much to the amazment and excitment of THIN AIR staff members there are 7 (yes SEVEN!) THIN AIR participants on that list. They are David Bergen (The Retreat), Joseph Boyden (Through Black Spruce), Austin Clarke (More), Steven Galloway (The Cellist of Sarajevo), Pasha Malla (The Withdrawal Method), Paul Quarrington (The Ravine) and Mary Swan (The Boys in the Trees).

For the past several years Charlene has consistently picked writers that are on the Giller list, well before the list is announced. When I asked Charlene whether she knew if certain authors would make the list when she invites them to participate at THIN AIR, her response was “I just choose writers that are doing exciting things. I always hope they show up on the list. But I’m always thrilled when they do.”

THIN AIR 2008 is off to a great start and the Festival has not even started yet!