Brandon Aboriginal Literary Festival

Thursday, October 25, 2007 at 12:00 am Archived

Evans Theatre, Brandon University, 18th St, Brandon

Renowned and award-winning writers featured at the Festival include: Joanne Arnott, Marie Annharte Baker, Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm, Maria Campbell, Warren Cariou, Rosanna Deerchild, Paul DePasquale, Marilyn Dumont, Kristina Fagan, Louise Halfe, Tomson Highway, Erroll Kinistino, Emma LaRocque, Lee Maracle, Lorraine Mayer, Neal McLeod, Duncan Mercredi, Daniel David Moses, Beatrice (Culleton) Mosionier, Yvette Nolan, Eden Robinson, Armand Garnett Ruffo, Darrell Racine, and Gregory Scofield.

Participating writers will be reading from their published works and talking about their work. We will be selling books by the authors and also featuring tables by Aboriginal and Métis organizations. There will be four panel discussions at the Festival, on topics ranging from “Life and Writing” to “The Politics of Aboriginal Theatre.” Most of the writers will be attending the whole Festival. There will be a musical event on Saturday evening.

The Brandon Aboriginal Literary Festival is hosted by the Departments of English and Native Studies and the John E. Robbins Library at Brandon University, with co-sponsorship from the BU Faculty of Arts, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Manitoba Writers’ Guild, the Manitoba Association of Playwrights, the League of Canadian Poets, the Brandon Friendship Centre, and the Manitoba Métis Federation (Southwest Region).

For more information please call the Faculty of Arts at Brandon University: (204) 727-9790.


Brandon University

  • 18th St, Brandon